Aswan University was established in accordance with Republican Decree No. 311 of 2012 and is based in the city of Aswan. The establishment of the Faculty of Archeology at Aswan University was approved in the session of the Supreme Council of Universities held on 29/9/2012

Issuance of Prime Minister Decision No. 1595 of 2014 on September 6, 2014 with the approval of the Council of Ministers to add the Faculty of Archeology to Aswan University

The college consists of the following departments:

Department of Egyptian Antiquities

Department of Islamic Archeology

Department of Antiquities Restoration

The duration of the study at the college is 4 years – the language of study in the college is Arabic – the academic degree granted by the college is a bachelor’s degree